Style only applying to some areas, not others RRS feed

• Question

• As a rookie, I'm really struggling with the positioning attributes for different areas; "position: relative" and such just does not make sense to me yet.

But on to my specific problem, I have in my layout.css a page_content, banner, and column_l (among others). The idea is that banner and column_l fall within page_content. But the style I apply to page_content appears only in the banner region, not the column_l. Below is the code:

Layout.css

-------------

#page_content {

clear: both;
    }
    #banner {

clear: both;
    }
    #column_l {

float: left;
    }

-----------

Style.css

-----------

#page_content {
    background-color: #ffffff;
    border-
    }
    #banner {
    margin: 0;
    padding: 0;
    background-color: #113962;
    font-family: Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif;
    font-size: xx-large;
    font-weight: bolder;
    text-indent: 45px;
    color: #FE9B00;
    text-transform: capitalize;
    line-height: 50px;
    }
    #column_l {
    width: 580px;
    margin: 0;
    padding: 0 15px;

}

--------

DWT

--------

<!-- Begin Page Content -->
    <div id="page_content">
    <!-- Begin Banner -->
    <div id="banner">
    <!-- #BeginEditable "banner" -->
    <p>Banner</p>
    <!-- #EndEditable -->
    </div>
    <!-- End Banner -->
    <!-- Begin Left Column -->
    <div id="column_l">
    <!-- #BeginEditable "content" -->
    <h2>Headline 2</h2>
    <p>insert content here</p>
    <!-- #EndEditable -->
    </div>
    <!-- End Left Column -->
    </div>
    <!-- End Page Content -->

Do I have anything wrong in the code? The background-color, and border-left does not appear in the column_l area

PLEASE HELP!!!

Wednesday, July 11, 2012 12:54 AM

Answers