none
Delete row from table gives System.NotSupportedException RRS feed

• Question

• Hi,

i'm new to Linq. I'm implementing a test which has to check if a specified record in a table exists, if yes, it should delete it using the simplest way. Can me help somebody please ?

My code throws an System.NotSupportedException ( System.Object CompareObjectEqual(System.Object, System.Object, Boolean) into SQL does not exist)

and looks like:

Dim s101w46_SUSDB_connectionString As String = My.Settings.SUSDBConnectionString
            Using s101w46_SUSDB As New db_s101w46DataContext(s101w46_SUSDB_connectionString)

Dim Configurations_delete = _
                   (From configurations In s101w46_SUSDB.tbConfigurations() _
                   Where configurations.Value = "test" _
                   And configurations.Name = "test" _
                   Select configurations).SingleOrDefault

s101w46_SUSDB.tbConfigurations.DeleteOnSubmit(Configurations_delete)

Try
                    s101w46_SUSDB.SubmitChanges()

Catch ex As Exception
                    Console.WriteLine(ex)
                End Try

Thanks

• Changed type alldo Wednesday, October 10, 2012 2:50 PM
    Wednesday, October 10, 2012 2:47 PM

Answers

• I have no possibility to change the type - i can't make such changes into the DB. So as a workaround i will use the code without the "Value" comparison. Anyway, thanks for your help Lloyd !

alldo

Thursday, October 11, 2012 4:09 PM

All replies

• Can you provide more details?

1.  At what line in your code does the problem happen?

2.  Did your Linq query return a result?

3.  Your code does not take into account the fact that a row might not be found.

LS

Lloyd Sheen

Wednesday, October 10, 2012 9:28 PM
  • Hi Lloyd,

thanks for your reply. In the meantime i made a change to the code and it is operational now. The code follows:

<TestMethod()>
        Public Sub SQL_s101w46_SUSDB_DeleteFromSUSDBtable_Test()