The (In)Famous "Access Denied" problem RRS feed

• Question

• User-1037239328 posted

I've been through literally dozens of articles and forum entries, and yet this problem hangs on. I am writing a simple ASP.NET UserControl  to allow our users to update their basic profile information, and change their password. The UserControl can read anything from Active Directory. Changes will not save. "Access is denied."

• Credentials are good. We have a Service Account that is correctly delegated to update user profiles and passwords.
    • I have also tried using my own credentials. I am a Domain Admin.
    • I have tested without credentials. It won't even read without credentials, so the credentials ARE working.
    • I have turned Windows Authentication on and off in IIS 7.
    • I have turned Impersonation on and off in IIS 7.
    • I have used Impersonation in code.
    • I have run IIS7's process under accounts with "god" rights.
    • I have used the "old" DirectoryServices.DirectoryEntry approach, and the "new" AcccountManagement.PrincipalContext approach.
    • I have run the code on my home machine through a VPN connection.
    • I have run the code on my office development machine on the domain.
    • I have run the code on the Intranet web server, which is on the domain.
    • In all three environments, I can run "ADSI Edit" or "Active Directory Users and Computers," and change anything for any object. So the credentials and network are good.
    • I remembered that "way back when" there was a bug somewhere, that C# code would not work, but VB.NET code would. I figured that little bug was long gone, but thought I'd try anyway. So I re-wrote the UserControl in VB.NET. No joy.

When the code runs-- no matter what-- the result is the same. "Access is denied."