none
See if computer exists in AD RRS feed

• Question

• Hi, 

I'm fairly new to C#, I came from PowerShell which makes this task really easy.

I want to search my domain controller in a specific OU to test if a computer account exists.

In PowerShell I would have just used Get-ADComputer, in C# I'm trying to use the following code which I have found in examples online:

using (DirectoryEntry entry = new DirectoryEntry("LDAP://domain.lan/CN=company computers/DC=domain/DC=lan"))
    {
    using (DirectorySearcher adsearcher = new DirectorySearcher(entry)) { adsearcher.Filter = "(&(objectClass=computer) (cn=" + computerHostName + "))"; adsearcher.SearchScope = SearchScope.Subtree; adsearcher.PropertiesToLoad.Add("description"); SearchResult searchresult = adsearcher.FindOne(); SetOutputTextbox(value: searchresult.ToString()); } }

But I am getting the below error:

An operations error occured, error code:

Name Value Type
    ErrorCode -2147016672 int
    Message "An operations error occurred.\r\n" string
    Source "System.DirectoryServices" string

Any help is very appreciated :) 

Friday, May 3, 2019 8:40 AM

Answers

• Btw, try the following:

using System.DirectoryServices;
    using System.DirectoryServices.ActiveDirectory;

public static void FindComputer(string computerHostName)
            {
                DirectoryContext dirCtx = new DirectoryContext(DirectoryContextType.Domain, "domain.lan");
                using (Domain usersDomain = Domain.GetDomain(dirCtx))
                using (DirectorySearcher adsearcher = new DirectorySearcher(usersDomain.GetDirectoryEntry()))
                {
                    adsearcher.Filter = "(&(objectClass=computer) (cn=" + computerHostName + "))";
                    adsearcher.SearchScope = SearchScope.Subtree;
                    adsearcher.PropertiesToLoad.Add("description");
                    SearchResultCollection searchResults = adsearcher.FindAll();

foreach (SearchResult searchResult in searchResults)