none
Pass data between layers RRS feed

• Question

• Hi all,

I a am newbie here.

My Tech. environment: asp.net 2.0 and Sql Server

Problem:
    Manyatimes, we need to return data from different tables in the database to the UI (for example, search results) whose schema wouldnt match with any of the domain objects.

In this case, one option is to transfer the data using the datasets/datatables feature provided by .Net.

The other option I could think of is to create business (DTO?) objects to just pass on the data from the DB to the UI.

I prefer the second approach. However, I need suggestions on how do I implement it? Will this DTO contain a reference of all the domain objects involved or Can I just include only the desired columns?

Or, do we have any other solution?

Thanks in advance,

AGL

Friday, August 17, 2007 7:30 AM

All replies

• If you're not going to use the ADO objects (DataSet/Table/etc.) in the application except to pass data from the DAL to a domain model, yes, absolutely, get rid of them.  It's a lot of unnecessary overhead.

If you are creating a domain model, populate the data in the domain model directly from a data reader.  My favorite way of doing this while maintaining loose coupling is using what was popularized as the "provider model."  The essence of it is defining a data provider contract in your domain model layer that specifies how your application needs to get its data.  Then you have your DAL implement that contract.  You use configuration and/or runtime dependency injection to specify the provider you're using, so the domain model layer has no hard reference to the DAL.  The DAL does have a hard reference to the domain model layer (because it needs to implement the contract), but that's okay.