Frustrated user by installation of silverlight RRS feed

• Question

• I am a web designer and i use for designing silverlight. It is a super technologie, but...

At thist time - i think - more as 60% from the windows user doesn't have installed silverlight (for example wondows 7 ultimate doesn't support Silverlight). By the first call from html with silverlight object, the user get the information about the "install the Silverlight".

And this is a problem.

A very large user group refuse to install this plugin. (Willies from virus. etc.). When i ofer for my clients the solution with silverlight, and i descrieb the adventages vs flash, i get the answer: OK, but the flashplayer is not necessary to install.

What is the solution?

if exists a solution that by the first call the silverlight automatically will be installed in background, without user ministration?

Thanks and regards

IA Transoft

Monday, April 19, 2010 2:45 PM

Answers

All replies

• Hi

I gues Microsoft is fustrated from law remember the preinstalled IE dicussion. What I know the only way to install SL withaut user interaction could mady by an  network administrator http://download.microsoft.com/download/7/8/d/78da8ec9-8801-42e5-89e5-3809386f1316/silverlight%20deployment%20guide.doc

Monday, April 19, 2010 2:53 PM
  • last time I checked you need to install flash/flash plugin/flash player...

windows 7 ultimate doesn't support silverlight? really? smells funny

install silverlight without user consent?  hmm..  not so much

Monday, April 19, 2010 2:55 PM
  •  Yes, as has been stated before, having dealt with this issue myself, Silverlight requires elevated privileges to install which either the user has to explicitly give (Windows 7 has no problem running Silverlight btw) or it needs to be installed by Administrators. I no network guy, but I'm pretty sure the install can be pushed out remotely but I may be wrong.

Monday, April 19, 2010 3:22 PM