none
What's the right strategy for population datasets from multiple databases RRS feed

• Question

• Hello all,

First of all i am very new to ADO.NET and Visual Basic.NET. I have the following question:

I have 3 databases (Microsoft Access). I want to retrieve from 2 databases a table. These tables are structure wise the same. I want to combine these tables and than count a collum (like in a select count statement). I read a couple of books and searched the internet, but i don't have a good idea how to handle my problem.

I tried to retrieve the data from the databases, but i do not have a clue how to combine the results on a easy way.

Thanks in advance.

Kind regards,

Maarten.

Monday, February 21, 2011 5:11 PM

Answers

• If you just want to join data from multiple databases with Access, you can do this without the need for a data set.

There are several ways to do this.  One way is to create linked tables.  You can create a new "master" database and link in all the related tables from the different databases using the Access UI, then run queries against the linked tables from ADO.NET.

Another option is to combine the databases on the fly using ADO.NET directly.  You can join tables from multiple databases using the OLEDB provider like so (C# code):

using System;
    using System.Collections.Generic;
    using System.Linq;
    using System.Text;
    using System.Data.OleDb;

namespace CrossDB
    {
    	class Program
    	{
    		static void Main(string[] args)
    		{
    			try
    			{
    				using (OleDbConnection conn = new OleDbConnection(@"Provider=Microsoft.ACE.OLEDB.12.0;Data Source=C:\Issues\Database1.accdb;"))
    				{
    					conn.Open();
    					OleDbCommand cmd = conn.CreateCommand();
    					cmd.CommandText = @"select count(t1.id) from [C:\Issues\Database1.accdb].[Table1] as t1, [C:\Issues\Database1.accdb].[Table1] t2 where t1.id=t2.id";
    					using (OleDbDataReader dr = cmd.ExecuteReader())
    					{
    						while (dr.Read())