net46 Console App as WebJob -- How Publish?? RRS feed

• Question

• User1046475001 posted

I am new to Azure and WebJobs, and thoroughly confused by the inconsistencies between the online documentation I've found and the current state of tooling. I'm hoping someone here can at least point me in the right direction for more study.

I have an ASPNET 5/MVC 6 website built on the net46 framework. One element of the solution is a WebJobs project, which is also built on the net46 framework. It works beautifully on my local development machine, and the website works beautifully on Azure.

Everything is being built inside of Visual Studio 2015, Update 3. All the latest tooling and frameworks are installed.

But I cannot for the life of me figure out how to deploy the WebJob to Azure. 

There's supposed to be, from what I've read, a context menu option on the WebJob project that would let me publish it to Azure. There is no such option available. Nor is Azure a publication target when you simply right-click Publish.. The only choice available in the publication wizard is "File System".

There's also supposed to be a context menu option for the MVC6 website, under Add..., which would allow me to add/couple a WebJob to the website, so that both would be published simultaneously to Azure. There is no such option available.

The documentation on all of this, being available only online, is either out of date or I haven't found the "right" page yet (that's a problem, Microsoft, with pushing all the documentation to the web -- when things change as rapidly as they are in the ASPNET world these days, there is no way to determine which "documentation" is actually the currently applicable one).