Append Data Macro in Web App RRS feed

• Question

• I have limited experience with Data Macro's but I need to Append a Child table when the Parent adds a new record.

Three tables: Classes, Sessions, Attendees

Scenario: "Class A" has a one "Session" with "25 Attendees"

If another (or more) Session is added to Class A I would like to be able to ADD the same 25 Attendees to the new Session without selecting each individually. Can this be done with a Data Macro?

Thank you in advance.

John Fletcher

Saturday, May 9, 2015 2:50 AM

Answers

• ​Hi John,

>> If another (or more) Session is added to Class A I would like to be able to ADD the same 25 Attendees to the new Session without selecting each individually. Can this be done with a Data Macro?

You could achieve this by using event data macros. Data macros come in two flavors: event data macros and standalone macros. You could select the table “Classes”, click the “On Insert” to add the event data macro, use ForEachRecord Data Block to get the 25 attendees, and in the ForEachRecord Data Block use CreateRecord Data Block to create a new record in the specified table.

# ForEachRecord Data Block
    https://msdn.microsoft.com/EN-US/library/office/jj249636.aspx
    #CreateRecord Data Block
    https://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/office/jj249720.aspx

Best Regards,

Edward

We are trying to better understand customer views on social support experience, so your participation in this interview project would be greatly appreciated if you have time. Thanks for helping make community forums a great place.
    Click HERE to participate the survey.

Monday, May 11, 2015 8:22 AM

All replies

• ​Hi John,

>> If another (or more) Session is added to Class A I would like to be able to ADD the same 25 Attendees to the new Session without selecting each individually. Can this be done with a Data Macro?