Orbit camera around a model RRS feed

• Question

• Hi,

I'm totally new to DirectX, and am sorry if the problem appears simple.

I have to orbit the camera around a 3D volume. But it has to be done about both the X-axis as well as the Y-axis. The user can alternate between the two or stick to any one (there are two buttons, OrbitX and OrbitY).

How do I go about doing this?!? The camera eye has to be positioned at it's new place on the imaginary sphere surrounding the model. Also it's Up vector has to be calculated, whereas the LookAt point remains the same. I heard that quaternions help in achieving smooth rotations, but how should it be used?

Any help on this will really be appreciated!

Thanks.

Tuesday, March 27, 2007 11:52 AM

Answers

• I feel there might be a simpler way to do this; take the angles that represent the rotation around the X-axis (pitch), followed by the angles that represent rotation around the Y-axis (yaw).

Take a look at my example; it uses the two angles (cam_pitch and cam_yaw) to show orientation around the model (Vector3 model_coords), and the matrix view for the view matrix.

Code Snippet

Matrix pitch_rotation = Matrix.CreateRotationX(MathHelper.ToRadians(cam_pitch));

Matrix yaw_rotation = Matrix.CreateRotationY(MathHelper.ToRadians(cam_yaw));

Vector3 v = Vector3.Backward;

v = Vector3.Transform(v, pitch_rotation);

v = Vector3.Transform(v, yaw_rotation);

view = Matrix.CreateLookAt(model_coords + v, model_coords, Vector3.Up);

Obviously the camera angles are expressed in degrees, and as for the perpendicular Up Vector for the camera, that's really not necessary unless you don't want it upside-down. If you do, just repeat the 3rd, 4th, and 5th lines, replacing v with up and Vector3.Backward to Vector3.Up.