none
Design Patterns RRS feed

• Question

• What is the usage of common GoF design patterns in daily coding? I ask this because as a developer I'm constantly trying to improve both my code and my overall design, to create software that's easy to maintain and easy to extend--- hopefully easy to change without effecting the 'client' aspect through the use of interfaces etc---

Is there a more straight forward application of certain design patterns? For example, does anyone sit down and actually implement a bridge pattern in their code--- you read about it a lot, but only in academic articles, you equally read of people who find them absolutely useless most of the time... I don't think I'm being a dilletante when I imagine that people want to know how to implement good practices, and not simultaeneously have to think about the theory of state automata when they're developing.

Who is using GoF patterns on a daily basis, conciously and with apt reason, or rather, who is using these patterns as an abstraction for broader coding practices?

Monday, March 20, 2006 6:23 AM

Answers

All replies

• Moved to Architecture General.
    Monday, March 20, 2006 8:17 AM
  • I have not had a day go by when I have not used a design pattern from GoF in the last three years.

As for the people who find them useless ... Alot of the patterns are very simple concepts (take the proxy pattern or abstract factory). The true value comes into play when I can tell another engineer to "create a factory that returns a proxy of the object adding <insert>". I have just explained a fairly complex architecture in a single sentence and the other engineer will if they know the patterns understand exactly what I am asking for.

More importantly, if named as such in the code ... another engineer comes along two years from now and they understand the same patterns, they will have a very small learning curve picking up what is going on.