How do I pass referenced control values through javascript to pagemethods/webmethods? RRS feed

• Question

• This is my first time trying to use Pagemethods, I'm 9 straight hours into this and oh-so-close to doing what I need to do, which is pass the reference of a chart control into my webmethod.

I have the general concept working - I can pass a string parameter and other simple things into the webmethod, but when I try to pass a reference to my chart control...i guess my syntax is wrong because it just skips over the pagemethods call.  Honestly, I don't know what I'm doing, because I haven't done a lot with javascript, either.

Here's my pertinent code:

scriptmanager (as you can see I was playing with webservices also):

<asp:ScriptManager ID="Scriptmanager1" runat="server" EnablePageMethods="true">
            <Services>
                <asp:ServiceReference Path="~/SPV/spv.asmx" />
                <%--<asp:ServiceReference Path="https://assessment.jefferson.kyschools.us/DMA/SPV/spv.asmx" />--%>
            </Services>
        </asp:ScriptManager>

Chart Control setup and the code calling the javascript function (I'm using bootstrap):

<div runat="server" class="accordion-heading">
        <span class="caret"></span>
        <a id="aFA1SM1" runat="server" style="color: Black" class="accordion-toggle" data-toggle="collapse"
            data-parent="#accFA1SM1" href="#divFA1SM1" onclick="getData()">Increase <strong>achievement</strong> total by level as measured by the state assessments.
    </a>
    </div> 
    <div id="divFA1SM1" runat="server" class="accordion-body collapse out">
        <div id="divchFA1SM1" runat="server" class="accordion-inner">
            <asp:Chart ID="chFA1SM1" runat="server" DataMember="DefaultView"></asp:Chart>
        </div>
    </div>

javascript:

function getData() {
        ct = document.getElementById('<%= chFA1SM1.ClientID %>').value;
        PageMethods.getData(function (returnValue) {