Setting a query parameter in a subreport RRS feed

• Question

• I would like to pass a parameter to a subreport that can be used in the embedded SQL query. I am using SSRS 2008, and have been searching around on the internet for 2 days. I am new to SSRS, so any help is appreciated. I have been able to pass parameters to filter data in a subreport successfully, but this happens to be in a nested sql subquery, so that option is not available. The subreport runs correctly when run by itself and I put in the query parameter.

Mike

Thursday, March 31, 2011 8:57 PM

Answers

• Hi saskcivic,

From your scenario, you have mentioned that you cannot pass values to subreport. Of course, it is can pass values to a query in a subreport.

What do you mean about pass the day value to the main report to the @QueryDate parameter in the query? My understanding is that, at first, passes a day value to the mainreport, and then passes this day parameter to the subreport parameter. If I misunderstand, please let me know. If in this case, please try the following steps again, and then check if it works for you.

1. Right-click the subreport and then click Subreport Properties in Design view.
    2. Click Parameters in the Subreport Properties dialog box.
    3. Click Add. A new row is added to the parameter grid.
    4. In the Name text box, type the name of a parameter which is in the subreport. Please type in “QueryDate” in the Name textbox , please make sure the main report parameter have the same name as “QueryDate”( this is from your scenario).
    5. In the Value list box, type or select a value to pass to the subreport. This value must exist in the main report, and
    not type in the parameter value.