Checking code through fxcop RRS feed

• Question

• Hi,

I am new in fxcop.I want to write my own custom rule.But my question is can I fetch and check the actual code from fxcop rule.eg-

if my code is something like

using System.Data;

using System.Text;

class test()

{

int i=0;

}

then

can i get the value of line 5 that is int i=0 by any way.

like method.Instructions[5].values.toString() = "int i=0"

means I want to get the actual code and on the basis of that I want to write my logic.

is it possible in fxcop

Tuesday, September 6, 2011 2:00 PM

Answers

• FxCop allows you to inspect the IL that was generated for your method, or to inspect a tree structure of "Nodes" that represent your compiled code.

for example, int i = 0, results in a Local in the list of locals, and an AssignmentExpression with a Literal source and a Local as target. It's somethimes a little hard to wrap your head around, but once you have it, it's usually quite simple as long as you stay inside the same class or method.

If you want to inspect sourcecode, check out StyleCop, which works on a source level.

• Marked as answer by eryang Thursday, September 15, 2011 7:43 AM
    Wednesday, September 7, 2011 7:00 AM

All replies

• FxCop allows you to inspect the IL that was generated for your method, or to inspect a tree structure of "Nodes" that represent your compiled code.

for example, int i = 0, results in a Local in the list of locals, and an AssignmentExpression with a Literal source and a Local as target. It's somethimes a little hard to wrap your head around, but once you have it, it's usually quite simple as long as you stay inside the same class or method.

If you want to inspect sourcecode, check out StyleCop, which works on a source level.

• Marked as answer by eryang Thursday, September 15, 2011 7:43 AM
    Wednesday, September 7, 2011 7:00 AM