none
How to Obtain Table Counts? RRS feed

• Question

• Hi,

I'm new to linq and struggling with the syntax.  Trying to obtain the row counts in several tables.  The following syntax works unless the context.My01t_file table is empty.  Any ideas on how to solve this? 

using (MyEntities context = new MyEntities())
        {
            var z =
                (
                from My01t in context.My01t_file
                .Take(1)
                select new {
                            FilCount = context.My01t_file.Count()
                           ,ErrCount = context.My16t_fileerr.Count() +
                                              context.My10t_filesuberr.Count() +
                                              context.My05t_fileminierr.Count()
                            }
                );        

}

Thanks in advance! 

Thursday, November 27, 2014 1:50 AM

Answers

• Hello Dave,

Thanks for your clarification, you could use the .DefaultIfEmpty() as:

using (DataClasses1DataContext db = new DataClasses1DataContext())
                {
                    var result = (from order in db.Orders.Take(1).DefaultIfEmpty()
                                  select new { FileCount = db.Orders.Count(), ErrorCount = db.OrderDetails.Count() }).ToList(); ;
                }

Then if there are not records in Order table, there is a default record return so that the anonymous type would be executed.

We are trying to better understand customer views on social support experience, so your participation in this interview project would be greatly appreciated if you have time. Thanks for helping make community forums a great place.
    Click HERE to participate the survey.

• Marked as answer by DaveIII Thursday, November 27, 2014 7:33 PM
    Thursday, November 27, 2014 6:07 AM

All replies

• Hello Dave,

>>  The following syntax works unless the context.My01t_file table is empty