none
,net Framework confusion RRS feed

• Question

• I cannot load TurboTax 2016.  I am told that I don't have .net Framework 4.6 on my computer.  I downloaded 4.6 and got a message attached that it was already on my computer.  I also checked my apps and saw that 4.6 wasn't included.  My OS is Windows 10 which is the latest version as of today's date.  How can I resolve this problem?
    Friday, January 20, 2017 1:51 AM

Answers

• Hi Pekeris,

Sorry, many trials.
    There exist many versions of .NET Framework in my Windows 10 Pro.(64-bit).

I'm a software developer and have installed .NET Framework Developer Pack.  If you don't mind to install it, please download.
    Microsoft .NET Framework 4.5.2 Developer Pack

Regards,
    Ashidacchi
    • Marked as answer by Pekeris Friday, January 20, 2017 2:04 PM
    Friday, January 20, 2017 12:35 PM

All replies

• Hi,

Troubleshooting and Repairing Problems with the Microsoft .NET Framework

The above article of TurboTax FAQ says:

TurboTax for Windows 2016 will require .NET Framework 4.5.2
          Windows 10 Has .NET Framework 4.6 Installed

I suppose you should download and install .NET Framework 4.5.2
    Web Installer of 4.5.2 is here.

Regards,
    Ashidacchi

Friday, January 20, 2017 7:26 AM
  • Hi Pekeris,

Thank you for posting in MSDN forum.

Your OS is Win 10, right? The .Net Framework 4.6 is pre-installed with OS.

You don't have to download and install it separately, please directly go to Control Panel\Programs\Programs and Features to turn Windows features on or off to enable it:

If the enable operation doesn't work, please use sfc /scannow command to see if there are any system errors and to repair missing or corrupted system files before turn on the features.

Reference:https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/kb/929833

Best Regards,

MSDN Community Support