locked
Latest APPROVED version, not just latest version RRS feed

  • Question

  • Fellow sufferers

    I want to mail a link to a (Word) document in Sharepoint to my colleague, and whenever he accesses it, he gets the latest APPROVED version.

    Example:

    Following versions exist: 0.1, 0.2, 0.3, 0.4, 0.5, 1.0, 1.1, 1.2, 1.3. Only 1.0 is Approved. Version 1.3 is probably very incomplete full of 'xxx' marks where I still need to add something - dont want him to get that one!

    When he links, he gets version 1.0, although later versions do exist. So he always will get the highest n.0 version, which we set in status Approved.

    Thanks in advance, Im very grateful of your help!! :-)))

    Friday, March 14, 2014 5:17 PM

Answers

  • SharePoint's content approval system works like this:

    - People who can make changes, see the latest and greatest version, approved or not. Makes sense, since they might need to work on the changes.

    - People who can approve changes, see the latest and greatest version, approved or not. Makes sense, they might need to approve the changes.

    - People who cannot make or approve changes, see the latest APPROVED version.

    This is just the way it is.

    Now, what you probably want is some sort of DIFFERENT location for the collaboration copy and the final copy. You can use a workflow to provide this several ways. You can look at using a record center, or you can have a separate folder. You can copy the original Word file, or you can convert to PDF (in which case you don't even need a different location/library/folder).


    Scott Brickey
    MCTS, MCPD, MCITP
    www.sbrickey.com
    Strategic Data Systems - for all your SharePoint needs

    • Marked as answer by Patrick_Liang Friday, March 21, 2014 10:03 AM
    Friday, March 14, 2014 5:23 PM

All replies

  • SharePoint's content approval system works like this:

    - People who can make changes, see the latest and greatest version, approved or not. Makes sense, since they might need to work on the changes.

    - People who can approve changes, see the latest and greatest version, approved or not. Makes sense, they might need to approve the changes.

    - People who cannot make or approve changes, see the latest APPROVED version.

    This is just the way it is.

    Now, what you probably want is some sort of DIFFERENT location for the collaboration copy and the final copy. You can use a workflow to provide this several ways. You can look at using a record center, or you can have a separate folder. You can copy the original Word file, or you can convert to PDF (in which case you don't even need a different location/library/folder).


    Scott Brickey
    MCTS, MCPD, MCITP
    www.sbrickey.com
    Strategic Data Systems - for all your SharePoint needs

    • Marked as answer by Patrick_Liang Friday, March 21, 2014 10:03 AM
    Friday, March 14, 2014 5:23 PM
  • Probably the other versions are in Draft Mode or are not Published!... 
    Friday, March 14, 2014 5:26 PM