Downloading a file using C# in an ASP.NET MCV project RRS feed

• Question

• first time posting so if I make any mistakes and not follow the guidelines please correct me.

So I working on an MCV project on my own. Creating a server which will hand out files to registered users. I have some HTML experience so I tried using that to download the file but couldn't. I get the browser to try to download the file but immediately it says the file cant be found or doesnt exist. I have a feeling its because IIS is not allowing the client to access the file system. Of course its just a guess. Im using Microsoft Visual Studio 2015 as my IDE if that makes a difference. Heres the code.

@model MainApplication.Models.IndexViewModel
    @{
        ViewBag.Title = "Download";
    }

<h2>@ViewBag.Title</h2>

<p class="text-success">@ViewBag.Message</p>

<div>

<ul>
            @{
                string dirPath = "\\Users\\hippiewho\\Documents\\Visual Studio 2015\\Projects\\Web Application\\MainApplication\\Views\\Download";
                string dirDownPath = "..\\Download\\";
                Response.ClearContent();
                Response.Clear();
                System.Web.MimeMapping.GetMimeMapping("w3logo.jpg");
            }
            @{
                List<string> dirs = new List<string>(Directory.EnumerateFiles(dirPath));
                foreach (var dir in dirs)
                {
                    <li><a class="btn-block" href="@dirDownPath@dir.Substring(dir.LastIndexOf("\\") + 1)" download >@dir.Substring(dir.LastIndexOf("\\") + 1)</a></li>
                }
            }
        </ul>
    </div>

The controller doesnt have much in it except the view() function and the ViewBag title which is download.

• Moved by Kristin Xie Tuesday, October 13, 2015 5:46 AM
    Monday, October 12, 2015 6:34 PM

Answers

• ASP.NEt question belong into a seperate forum:

http://forums.asp.net/