none
Rebuild a Parallel port driver for windows 64 bits. RRS feed

• Question

• Hello, I'm new in windows driver development.

My object was to rewrite a new parallel port driver, and had a new parport.sys file. I have modified the source code of parallel port driver for windows x32. I have modified the parport.c file. This file is written in c kernel. I have got this file form WinDDK (3790.1830) examples folder.

It’s in folder named c:\WINDDK\3790.1830\src\kernel\parport.

I’m working in Windows 7 x64. I have used for building this driver WinDDK (3790.1830). I have built this driver in DOS.

I have used to build these command lines:

C:\WINDDK\3790.1830\bin\setenv.bat  C:\WINDDK\3790.1830 chk wxp

cd /d C:\WinDDK\3790.1830\src\kernel\parport

and

build

I had a good file system (parport.sys). It works in windows XP x32 bits and in windows 7 x32 bits without any problem.   I have rebuilt this driver for windows XP x64 and windows 7 x64. I have used WinDDK (3790.1830) too.

I have used to build these command lines:

C:\WINDDK\3790.1830\bin\setenv.bat  C:\WINDDK\3790.1830 chk 64

cd /d C:\WinDDK\3790.1830\src\kernel\parport

and

build

I had a new parport.sys, but it doesn’t work in x64 environment Windows XP or Windows 7.   I have used the new version of WinDDK (7600.16385.1), but I have had the same result, windows XP x64 or windows 7 x64 didn't accept this driver.

Now I’m looking for a method to rebuild this driver for windows x64.

Could someone help me to rebuild this driver for windows 64 bits please?

I would like to know too:

Do I have to modify the source code to compile the driver with Windows 64 compiler?

Thank you and have a very nice day.

Monday, March 9, 2015 7:31 AM

Answers

• I went back and checked the documentation for the old DDK.  You are specifying building for Itanium, you want AMD64 not 64 for that parameter.

Don Burn Windows Filesystem and Driver Consulting Website: http://www.windrvr.com

Monday, March 9, 2015 3:20 PM

All replies