none
vb.net Outlook application inspector raises an error when a new inspector event fires when a note is created/opened RRS feed

• Question

• Hi, I was wondering if anyone has had this issue before.

I have an VSTO AddIn that I have created for Outlook 2003.  The Add In creates a new button on Outlook mail items that users can click to change the sensitivity of the email to confidential.  A gateway service then automatically encrypts out going emails set to confidential.

I have working code that adds the button and sets the correct sensitivity when clicked.  However if a users opens a Note in Outlook my code raises an error.

I'm new to programming Office Add-Ins and I have to say that I've been stuck on this issue for quite some time.  My code is written in vb.net and is as follows:

Imports System
    Imports Microsoft.Office.Core
    Imports System.Runtime.InteropServices
    Imports System.Diagnostics

Public Class SecureEmailAddIn
        Dim WithEvents allInsp As Outlook.Inspectors
        Dim oApp As Outlook.Application

Private Sub SecureEmailAddIn_Startup(ByVal sender As Object, ByVal e As System.EventArgs) Handles Me.Startup
            Try
                'Hooking in to Outlook
                oApp = New Outlook.Application
                'Getting a connection to all inspectors (outlook windows such as new mail, contacts and tasks)
                allInsp = oApp.Inspectors
            Catch ex As Exception
                MsgBox("The Secure Email Button AddIn has had an error.  Please view the event log for further details.", MsgBoxStyle.Critical)
                WriteToEventLog("Sub: SecureEmailAddIn_Startup. Error reads: " & vbCrLf & ex.Message, "SecureEmailButtonAddin", EventLogEntryType.Error, "Application")
            End Try
        End Sub

Private Sub SecureEmailAddIn_Shutdown(ByVal sender As Object, ByVal e As System.EventArgs) Handles Me.Shutdown
            oApp = Nothing
        End Sub