none
thread safe event handlers and a Dot Net vent RRS feed

• Question

• Hi Folks,

I would first like to thank all those who read and consider this and especially to those who can offer aid.

I am a 25 year casual programmer who was quite happy, as were my employers, with my tools being VB6 calling C DLLs OR Delphi 6/7. As these tools no longer run in Win 8/10 I am trying to get a grip on Dot Net programming and am finding it quite frustrating as I am spending excessive amounts of time and effort in satisfying Dot Net rather than spending it satisfying my app.

At the moment I am trying to make sense of multi threading. I have written a wrapper class around the TcpListener class to add some functionality and to save me writing the same boilerplate every time I need a listener. My wrapper is in it's own assembly which is referenced by the app which supplies the handler. I am happy with my wrapper in a one connection only version. I am trying to extend it so that it will support multiple concurrent connections by launching a new thread for each new connection request. On a new connection the Listener instantiates a new client, raises an event and passes the client to the handler in EventArgs. My problem arises in the event handler. At run time VS2015 raises an Invalid Operation Exception.
    "Additional information: Cross-thread operation not valid: Control 'TextBoxRcv' accessed from a thread other than the thread it was created on". I am OK with that. I get the error. My problem is in finding a resolution.

The Intellisense 'Click here for help' link returned 217.88 cm of information(13 pages @ 16.76 cm per on my screen) of which 100.56 cm was the 'here's  how to avoid it' example. One full metre of Dot Net code just to feed Dot Net itself so my app can display some text from a 2 line method. And, after all that, it is entirely unclear on how it prevents the problem.