none
Inserting a picture in my word template from a website! RRS feed

• Question

• Dear all,

I have created a template which take information from our website, from example the following link would get the Hotel name and other information regarding this Hotel (Of course the template is connected to Microsoft Access database File (.mdb).

Code:

{HYPERLINK "http://web3.XYZ.de/web3/hotelData.do?client=de&activity=photo&hotelnumber={MERGEFIELD Hotel_Hotel_Key } \* MERGEFORMAT}

Result:

http://web3.xyz.de/web3/hotelData.do

now, let’s imagine that the link will take us to this (which is working without problems):

The question is!

How Can I take the first shown picture from the website and include it in my template?

Ps: Please be easy on me while explaning , I am totally new to the templates world :)

Tuesday, July 29, 2014 8:56 AM

Answers

• Hi Zayed_Germany,

You’re using Office 2003, right? I think it’s possible with code.

I’m not going to tell you the details, but I’ll give you some suggestions about how to do this.

1. If you have Visual Studio installed on your machine, you could create a Word Add-In project, use managed code to download the picture you want from the hyperlink. WebClient or HttpWebRequest class will help you to download the html content or the image based on the given URL.

2. This is also possible in VBA. Use URLDownloadToFile function to download the picture as a file, then insert the file into the Word document.

For how to use this function in VBA, please take a look at this sample:

Private Declare Function URLDownloadToFile Lib   "urlmon" _

Alias   "URLDownloadToFileA" (ByVal pCaller As Long, _

ByVal szURL As String,   ByVal szFileName As String, _

ByVal dwReserved As   Long, ByVal lpfnCB As Long) As Long

Public Sub DownloadFileWithURL()

URLDownloadToFile 0, _

"http://social.msdn.microsoft.com/Forums/getfile/505442", _

"D:\505442.png", 0, 0

End Sub