none
Serial port reading loop RRS feed

• Question

• Hello!

I am new in Visual Studio 2019, but have more experience with C and C++ because of long years with MCU-s.

Also, i have an STM32 device, that send over Serial port an AES encrypted Hex data any 2 seconds. All messages are finished with newline. My program (with User Interface, not a console one) is able to read from serial and to decrypt the data, even in loop still working good, but the problem is that in loop i can't use the disconnect function, so my program stay in "infinite loop".

public void button1_Click(object sender, EventArgs e)
            {
                try 
                {
                    serialPort1.PortName = cBoxComPort.Text;
                    serialPort1.BaudRate = 9600;
                    serialPort1.DtrEnable = true;
                    serialPort1.ReadTimeout = 5000;
                    serialPort1.WriteTimeout = 500;
                    serialPort1.Open();
                    lblStatusCom.Text = "Connected";
                    lblMessage.Text = "I am on!";

while (serialPort1.IsOpen)
                    {
                        string mgs1 = serialPort1.ReadLine();
                        byte[] key = { 0x10, 0x11, 0x12, 0x13, 0x14, 0x15, 0x16, 0x17, 0x18, 0x19, 0x1A, 0x1B, 0x1C, 0x1D, 0x1E, 0x1F, 0x10, 0x11, 0x12, 0x13, 0x14, 0x15, 0x16, 0x17, 0x18, 0x19, 0x1A, 0x1B, 0x1C, 0x1D, 0x1E, 0x1F };
                        byte[] enc = StringToByteArray(mgs1);
                        byte[] dec = Decrypt(enc, key);
                        lblMessage.Text = getString(dec);
                    }
                }
                catch(Exception err)
                {
                    MessageBox.Show(err.Message,"Error", MessageBoxButtons.OK, MessageBoxIcon.Error);
                    //lblStatusCom.Text = "Disconnected";
                }
            }

How can i "put to background" this loop process, so that a user can click to disconnect, if he wish to quit the reading?