Shortcomings of Mobile Web Forms RRS feed

• Question

• User-1412709331 posted

I am relatively new to .NET development and only have a couple of small .NET Windows apps and .NET Web apps under my belt using VS 2005. I am currently developing as .NET Web app that has one Mobile page in it to be used on a Blackberry device. I am finding the Mobile Form to be seriously lacking in features and functionality when compared to a regular ASP page. Please bear in mind I am a rookie so some of the shortcomings I list below are a result of my own ignorance, I hope that is true and you experts tell me I'm full of baloney. Here is the list of shortcomings:

1. can't use Tables

2. Textbox can't be READONLY

3. Labels can't have Borders set

4. Commands (which replace Buttons) cannot be sized

5. selecting an item in a Selection List control doesn't fire off a server event

6. what you see on the Design page is not close to what you see on the mobile device

7. HTML page text will reformat itself (like HTML used to do in VS2003) into a single line of text whenever it wants to

This are shortcomings I have found in the last couple of days. Please respond if I am wrong.

So what I am going to do is try to develop my mobile form on a regular asp page (keeping it 300px wide) and see if the Blackberry can deal with that code.

Thanks for any comments.

Cordially

Thursday, January 25, 2007 11:44 AM

Answers

• User-1412709331 posted

awj

Thanks for your reply. You are right about the wide range of devices and their limited capabilities being part of the issues with VS2005 Mobile Web Pages. Appreciate the reminder. Sometimes I forget there is a world out there besides mine.

To end my saga I must report that my efforts to develop an ASP.NET page (not using the Mobile web page) was not much better than using the Mobile Web Page. Both have their problems and limitations. It's a choice between the lesser of two evils.