Obtaining list of icons on toolbar and on desktop RRS feed

• Question

• Hello, 

I would like to use UIA API to write a piece of code that performs the following:

1. maps all the programs icons that are on the TaskBar, and on the dekstop

2. get the location of each icon on the screen  (pixel X-Y coordinates)

3. get the name (or relevant .exe file) of each icon

Im completely new to UIA API so I'd really appreciate any guidance on where to start.
    Any piece of code that performs something alike, or other relevant examples will be mostly appreciated

thanks!

Wednesday, August 22, 2012 6:03 PM

Answers

• Hi, I don’t think UIA can be used to find the executables associated with the desktop icons or taskbar icons. So if those exes are necessary, you may need take another approach. But if UIA is still of interest, this is what I’d do…

Run the latest Inspect tool that’s a part of the Windows SDK. Inspect uses the native-code UIA client API to access data that’s shown on the screen. So any results that Inspect shows can also be accessed by your own app if it uses the UIA API.

I pointed Inspect to the Recycle Bin icon, and got the following results…