none
Windows 7 Embedded - Routing and NAT capabilities RRS feed

• Question

• Hello everyone,

I am about to install a Windows Embedded solution in a hardware that has an embedded switch.

This hardware will essentially have two different networks, LAN (embedded switch) and WAN (independent ethernet port). (Please note, in this case WAN is not the internet, it is another separated network with different subnet, where the only link is this Windows machine)

I need to know if it is possible to activate the routing functions in Windows Embedded 7 much the same way you can do it in Windows 7 Ultimate:
    Reference -> wikihow com/Enable-IP-Routing

The main purpose is to be able to activate NAT function where I can port forward any requests from the WAN network to specific IP and ports in the LAN network.

I attached a diagram explaining what I need, which I hope is clear, I'm not very good at drawing these kind of diagrams...

Hope someone can help me in this.

Monday, March 23, 2015 3:09 PM

Answers

• I got a system with two LAN cards, and I got WES7 running on it. Yes, WES7 supports ICS.

Sean Liming - Book Author: Starter Guide SIM (WEI), Pro Guide to WE8S & WES 7, Pro Guide to POS for .NET - www.annabooks.com / www.seanliming.com

Wednesday, March 25, 2015 12:16 AM

All replies

• This forum is for Windows Embedded POSReady. Are you using POSReady, Windows Embedded Standard 7, or Windows 7 for Embedded Systems?

Sean Liming - Book Author: Starter Guide SIM (WEI), Pro Guide to WE8S & WES 7, Pro Guide to POS for .NET - www.annabooks.com / www.seanliming.com

Monday, March 23, 2015 4:10 PM
  • Hello Sean,

I am not using POSReady, but this was the only forum for Windows Embedded... I was not sure if I should post this as a general Windows question or in a Forum specific for Embedded.
    Should I move this question to another Forum?

I want to use Windows Embedded installed in a CF card, at least that is the plan.