none
How to retreive/update a single row in a datatable? RRS feed

• Question

• Hello,

I'm a newbie...

I have master/detail view with two datagrids based on an Invoices dataset with two tables:

Invoices (int InvoiceNum, int ClientNum, ..., INVOICE_TOTAL)

InvoiceLineItems (int LineItemNum, int Quantity, float Price, ...)

The invoices datatable is based on a stored procedure which returns data from the underlying Invoices table but also aggregate data calculated in the stored procedure - INVOICES_TOTALS (i.e.: for each invoice in the list the sproc calculates the sum of quantity*price for children in the InvoiceLineItems table). I do this in SQL Server for performance reasons and to be able to show the sum of all invoices at the bottom of the invoices datagrid (the master view).

Here is my problem: when I add line items to my InvoiceLineItems table in the detail datagrid I would like the corresponding Invoice row in the master datagrid to be refreshed to show the new INVOICE_TOTAL calculated in SQL. I don't want to update the whole Invoices datatable. I would basically like to call something like dataAdapter.Update(<just one row of my datatable>).

I thought of manually setting the invoice row's rowstate property to modified and then calling dataAdapter.Update but I don't know if this will really update just that row.

I hope this is clear. Thanks for your help.

Cheers,

Charlie

Friday, March 11, 2011 12:52 PM

Answers

• It seems to me that once you've added a new InvoiceLineItem, you could simply add the newly calculated amount (Quantity * Price) from the InvoiceLineItem row to the INVOICE_TOTAL field of the parent row in the Invoices DataTable. Add it directly to the field that you already have in the DataTable ... there's no need to retrieve any data from the database.
    ~~Bonnie Berent [C# MVP]

geek-goddess-bonnie.blogspot.com
    Sunday, March 27, 2011 1:17 AM

All replies

• Hi Charlie,

Welcome!