Task.WhenAll behaviour issue RRS feed

• Question

• Hi ,

I am new to windows 8 developing and also async programming.

I have 2 async methods.

public async Task<bool> GetCategories(Catalog catalog)
            {
                var ecats = catalog.Categories;
                ItemsToLoadCounter = ecats.Count();

IEnumerable<Task<CategoryViewModel>> categoriesQuery = from cat in ecats
                                                        select ProcessCategory(cat, catalog);
                Task<CategoryViewModel>[] categoryTasks = categoriesQuery.ToArray();
                CategoryViewModel[] categories = await Task.WhenAll(categoryTasks);
                int indexCounter = 1;
                foreach (var viewModel in categories) {
                    if (viewModel.HasSubCategories || (viewModel.Cards.Count > 0))
                    {
                        viewModel.Index = indexCounter++;
                        viewModel.SelectedSubCategoryChanged += viewModel_SelectedSubCategoryChanged;

viewModel.ScallopedPaperImage = string.Format("/Assets/ScallopedPaper/paper_{0}.png",
                                                                      (indexCounter%9) + 1);
                        Categories.Add(viewModel);
                    }
                    ItemsLoaded++;
                }

if (IsInDesignMode)
                {
                    SelectedCategory = Categories[2];
                }
                return true;
            }

private async Task<CategoryViewModel> ProcessCategory(Category cat, Catalog catalog) {
                var aViewModel = new CategoryViewModel(cat, null, this, catalog.Nebs, _dataService, _navigationService,
                                                       _applicationSettings, _settingsVM,_googleAnalytics);
                var junk=await aViewModel.GetCategoryDetails();
                return aViewModel;
            }