none
Question about Availability Set RRS feed

• Question

• I am little confused how availability set manage the server distribution when we deploy VMs in an availability set. Really appreciate if some one can shed some light. i am new in Azure world

QN 1) My understanding is that availability set is for infra structure redundancy. with that being said, if i deploy two SQL server VMs in an availability set, one in FD 0 and the other is in FD 1, how does data synchronize between these two servers? certainly i may need to have some setup to synchronize data like AlwaysOn or something. is that right? Availability set itself does not initiate any data synchronization. is that right?

QN2) is there any limit how many servers we can deploy in an Availability set

QN 3) my understanding is that we have no control on allocating FD or UD. It is all based on the order of servers being deployed in an availability set. If that is right, in case if i noticed that two of my sql servers are on same fault domain how can i move into different one? For eg, i deployed 4 servers in an availability set with 3 FD. first one and last one are sql servers and that went to FD 0. But i need them on different FDs. How can i do that?

Thank for your help

Friday, October 18, 2019 5:39 PM

Answers

• Any further questions on this? 

Else, if the proposed solution helped remember to "Up-Vote" and "Mark as Answer" so the community can benefit as a whole. 

• Marked as answer by TGeorgeNY Tuesday, October 29, 2019 9:18 PM
    Thursday, October 24, 2019 10:56 PM

All replies

• We have some pretty good documentation on both Availability Sets and Availability Zones that should help you better understand how they work:

https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/azure/availability-zones/az-overview

https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/azure/virtual-machines/windows/manage-availability#configure-multiple-virtual-machines-in-an-availability-set-for-redundancy

I will also answer your questions directly: