none
Validation in Linq RRS feed

• Question

• Hi,
       It is my first time using LINQ to sql. I had a quick question on validation. I would like to make certain columns 'required' by adding an attribute to the partial class. I am not using a dynamic site, but I tried using the metadata attribute and it did not work.

Any advise is appreciated.

Thanks
    • Edited by N.Afache Thursday, July 9, 2009 8:15 PM
    Thursday, July 9, 2009 8:14 PM

All replies

• You may want to take a look at the partial function OnValidate that exist on all L2S-generated entity classes. Implement it with your validation logic, and L2S will call it when objects need to be validated (b4 hitting the database).
    Kristofer - Huagati Systems Co., Ltd. - Cool tools for Linq-to-SQL and Entity Framework: www.huagati.com/dbmltools (VS designer add-in), www.huagati.com/L2SProfiler (query profiler for L2S)
    Friday, July 10, 2009 3:56 AM
    Answerer
  • Hi,
       Yes true I can use the onValidate Event. That is server side error handling though. Is there a way I could throw the exception and have it caught by the validator in my UI with out using Dynamic data websites? What is the best way to handle exceptions thrown from the partial function?

Thanks
    Friday, July 10, 2009 6:06 AM
  • If you're using normal asp.net webforms without any dynamic stuff generating forms etc, I'd recommend using the normal asp.net validation controls. Sure, it will lead to duplicated validation logic but will save you the trouble of a roundtrip.
    Kristofer - Huagati Systems Co., Ltd. - Cool tools for Linq-to-SQL and Entity Framework: www.huagati.com/dbmltools (VS designer add-in), www.huagati.com/L2SProfiler (query profiler for L2S)
    Friday, July 10, 2009 6:34 AM
    Answerer