none
Suggestion RRS feed

• General discussion

• This is just a suggestion but I think it might help some people. I am new to C and am learning with Visual C# 2008 express and XNA Game Studio 3.1. You have the visual basic upgrade feature already, would it work to do it with those to things as well? making it easier to learn the concept of C#?
    Thursday, January 28, 2010 8:55 AM

All replies

• I think that moving from Small Basic to another BASIC (Visual Basic .NET) is far more natural for complete beginners not familiar with the C-style family of languages than progressing to C#, as most terms you'll come across in SB will be similar in VB.NET.
    Ofcourse not all hope is lost for C# programmers; here's an automatic translation utility that can translate from VB.NET to C# : http://www.carlosag.net/Tools/CodeTranslator/ . I can't guarentee it'll work perfectly, and you'll still have to add the required libraries and such yourself, but it will get you started with the general C# syntax.

Hope it helps.
    Friday, January 29, 2010 1:09 PM
  • I would love to see a version of C# along the same vein of Small Basic.  A simple IDE and limited number of keywords that would teach beginners basic principles allowing them to ease into the more complex ideas of a full blown compiler.
    Saturday, January 30, 2010 12:06 AM
  • I would love to see a version of C# along the same vein of Small Basic.  A simple IDE and limited number of keywords that would teach beginners basic principles allowing them to ease into the more complex ideas of a full blown compiler.
    As would I. The problem is to define what kind of subset to use. If a similar approach was taken as Small Basic (no types, variable scope, object oriented programming or complex programming and adding the Small Basic API) you'd end up with pretty much the same language except for the semicolon behind each line. But maybe it is possible to develop an 'intermediate' programming experience based on C#.