none
various problem in OSDesign with WINCE7 RRS feed

• Question

• Hi,

I'm really new in Windows Embedded Compact7, and I think I'm doing several errors in creating an OS image for my x86 ICOP PMX 090T-8A.

I'm able to create an OSimage and to download it to the compact flash card of my panel pc, to use the ethernet connection, the USB mouse, the PS2 keyboard and the COM1 serial port, but I have some problems:

1) every file that I save in my panel PC (for instance in the Window dir) are deleted when I turn off it

2) I can read an USB storage device only if I connect it to the USB port, turn off the panel PC and turn it on again. If I don't turn off the PC, I can't see the resource in the explorer

3) on my panel PC I have 1 COM port and two USB ports. The mouse works only in one of the USB port, the keyboard works only with PS2 connection (I can't use a USB keyboard). In the Catalog Items View in Platform builder I have checked "USB HID Keyboard only" and "USB HID Mouse only" and also "8042 PS/2 Keyboard/Mouse"

4) I can deselect Com16550(Third instance) but I'm not able to deselect the Com16550(Second Instance) from the Catalog Items View. Is there a reason why?

Thank you

eli

Tuesday, December 3, 2013 4:22 PM

All replies

• Hi,

1) Yes, that is because Windows dir , Program files dir etc are stored in RAM. If you reboot, you'll lose your files newly added to these folders.

2) May be somebody who worked with USB can answer this. (Anyway, adding some debug messages in your USB host driver(or build debug mode) and checking what happens when you plug-in your USB storage device is connected may help).

3) Are you sure that you selected both?? Please select "USB HID Keyboard and Mouse" (SYSGEN_USB_HID_CLIENTS)

4) When you are not able to deselect a catalog item, right click on that catalog item, and click "Show dependencies" using which you can find out why it is not allowing to deselect.

Regards,
    Keshava G N

Keshava G N Member - Technical (Software),