WCF forcibly closed by remote host RRS feed

• Question

• User-2144571781 posted

Hi everyone I hope someone finds the time to shed some light on this problem. I am new to WCF and so I am working with a simple database that adds diseases to a database through a WCF service. I am using LINQ to SQL to map my database entities (Diseases and Severities).

My problem is when I go through the business layer which is my WCF service, upon retrieving my Severity levels (low, medium, high) my WCF host is not succesfully packaging the severity levels message and the host forcibly closes. I am populating a drop down list with the severity levels so that when a user would add a disease it would insert that disease record with that severity level.

The interesting thing about this problem is that it works the first time through the service. Meaning before I've added any records to the database, my drop down list gets populated just fine with the severity levels returned by the service. Once I have added a disease record or multiple disease, if I try to reload the same page, it will say "An error occurred while receiving the HTTP response to http://localhost:1234/Mindtree/MedBAL/MedService/MedService. This could be due to the service endpoint binding not using the HTTP protocol. This could also be due to an HTTP request context being aborted by the server (possibly due to the service shutting down). See server logs for more details." It actually crashes on:
    Line 73: public MedDAL.SEVERITY[] GetSeverityLevels() { Line 74:  return base.Channel.GetSeverityLevels(); 

When I debug this I can see that it successfully pulls the records and stores them in the Severities[] array, something just goes wrong when it packages the message to send it back. I just don't understand why it works when my Disease table is empty. As soon as I add diseases to my DB and reload the page to add more diseases, it then has a problem getting the severity levels which don't change ever.

app.config