Enable/Disable CSSFriendly via property RRS feed

• Question

• User59752322 posted

I've got this working very nicely and customized the code to do exactly what I want (output in ' li ') so that I got down no sweat.

what I would like to do is make "EnableAdapter" a property for treeview.  The project calls for this (admin side = "don't care" and public face = "as compliant as humanly possible") and I first tried something like this...don't laugh, I'm new at this custom control thing

1        Public Class AdaptedTreeView
    2            Inherits TreeView
    4            Private _enableAdapter As New Boolean
    6            Public Property EnableAdapter()
    7                Get
    8                    Return _enableAdapter
    10               End Get
    11               Set(ByVal value)
    12                   _enableAdapter = value
    13               End Set
    14           End Property
    16           Private Function IsEnabledAdapter() As Boolean
    17               Return _enableAdapter
    18           End Function
    20       End Class

Seems simple enough, and I go to sneak in a little present into the Override OnLoad in the TreeViewAdapter.cs like this (well, it didn't work, but I was hoping)

Protected Overrides Sub OnLoad(ByVal e As EventArgs)
                MyBase.OnLoad(e)

Dim treeView As AdaptedTreeView = CType(Control, AdaptedTreeView)
                If (treeView.EnableAdapter) Then

I went into the .designer.vb trying to be sneaky and changed the type out, but no luck, comes up with

Parser Error Message: The base class includes the field 'TreeView1', but its type (CMS.Web.UI.CSSFriendly.AdaptedTreeView) is not compatible with the type of control (System.Web.UI.WebControls.TreeView). 

I got my property but I'm not sure how exactly ...wait, let me guess, compile a dll and add that as a control to my toolbox and drag/drop?  Or I guess I could drop a panel or placeholder on the page and do a controls.add?