TFS upgrade problem - TFS2010 - to 2012 RRS feed

• Question

• While following the ALM Rangers TFS Upgrade guide, http://vsarupgradeguide.codeplex.com/downloads/get/382526,  (and essentially the MS upgrade guide), I am having a problem with a Migration Based Upgrade.  I do not wish to attempt an in-place upgrade... that idea doesn't sit well (...you must first uninstall TFS2010...), but instead perform the migration to new hardware, which should leave both services stadning; the old TFS2010 and the new TFS2012.

After making full Db backups of all TFS2010 databases and then restoring them to a new Sql Server location as noted in the guide, I am attempting to "attach team project collection" by pointing to the new Sql Server instance, but receive the following:

TF254078: No attachable databases were found on the following instance of Sql Server...

I am a SysAdmin for the Sql Server.  I have tried restoring the 2010 databases via SSMS and TFSRestore.exe... same results (TF254078 error).

Please advise.

Thursday, June 27, 2013 10:19 PM

All replies

• Hi,

Thanks for your post!

I suggest you run the following command and see if it helps:

TFSConfig Collection /detach /collectionName:CollectionName /collectionDB:ServerName;DatabaseName
             ->TFSConfig Collection /detach /collectionName:DefaultCollection /collectionDB:WS1;TFS_DefaultCOllection
     Then run the command
           TFSConfig Collection /attach /collectionName:CollectionName /collectionDB:ServerName;DatabaseName
             ->TFSConfig Collection /attach /collectionName:DefaultCollection /collectionDB:WS1;TFS_DefaultCOllection

Then go to the TFS Admin Console and check the state of the Project collection for which you ran the above    command.

For more information, please refer to http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/vstudio/ee349263.aspx

Hope it helps!

Best Regards,

Cathy Kong
    MSDN Community Support | Feedback to us
    Develop and promote your apps in Windows Store