Dynamic Parameters in web performance test RRS feed

• Question

• Hello,

I am new to web performance testing.

I came through many articles describing how to create web test and load test for a website. But, my requirement is to create web test for web services. At the end, I created web tests for web services and running successfully.

And now, I want to pass values dynamically to the services.

To do this, we have extraction rules to extract the data from previous request and with the help of context parameters in the next request, we are passing dynamic values.

Here, I've only one request so extraction won't work. So I went for data source to replace the context parameters.

Now, my question is can we update/modify the request data before sending the request like extracting to context parameters.

Ex:

/servername/add?a=12&b=10

a and b values am replacing with the help of context parameters and data source.

/servername/add?a={{datasourcename.tablename.columnname}}&b={{datasourcename.tablename.columnname}}

with out using the database can we do this?

Can we modify the request body before sending the request?

Note: We have a prerequest event in web test.

Thanks in Advance...

-Kiran

Tahnks & Regards Kiran Chinthakuntla

Thursday, May 29, 2014 9:57 AM

Answers

All replies

• Hi Kiran

Yes you can there are many ways for you to add context parameters.  Probably easiest for you would be to convert to a coded webtest as you'll see the body of the request more clearly than by drilling down into a normal webtest.  Simply use the double curly brackets {{}} to encase any context parameter and it will replace it with the value when the request is submitted.

HTH

Thursday, May 29, 2014 10:09 AM
  • You can also use pluging to change the request details. See WebTestPlugin.PreRequestDataBinding Method and WebTestRequestPlugin.PreRequestDataBinding Method.

TejasJ.

Thursday, May 29, 2014 11:57 AM
  • Yes Kiran, you can modify the request body as suggested by Ian.