none
Possible causes for VSTO add-in crash? RRS feed

• Question

• Hi all,

I've been developing VSTO add-in for a few years already (since VSTO 2005 SE). Thousands (maybe) of user has used my VSTO solutions in their MS Office application (Word, Excel, Outlook, PowerPoint). But there is one thing that still remain all this year, sometime user(s) will complain that the VSTO add-in has gone missing. After doing troubleshoot, the result were most likely the VSTO add-in has been disabled or in-active. However, the frequency of VSTO add-in gone missing has been reduced by using newer version of Visual Studio (from 2005 to 2008 and now 2012).

Feedback from user (during troubleshoot, that I can remember)

1. Office application crashed while using the add-in (ex: crash after clicking a button in the add-in). Re-open Office application, add-in missing.
    2. Office application crashed due to other reasons (PC suddenly hang, black-out)
    3. Add-in missing after some Windows/Microsoft Update.
    4. Did not open Office application for a long time (more than 2 weeks).
    5. Some component (VSTO Runtime, .Net Framework, Office PIA) suddenly missing/corrupted.

So I Purposely create a few Word add-in (empty add-in, which do nothing, another test add-in with a button that will displayed a message box when clicked). Run it in test machine along with the original add-in. Try to 'crash' all add-ins by doing above possible steps and other 'not so smart' move... The result I get: very hard to make Word disabled those add-ins, although there were a few times the add-in did get disabled. Even the empty add-in also can get disabled (WOW)...

Note1: my add-in make use of external dll (mine also), which could be the 'real' reason why add-in get disabled. But the empty add-in is, well, empty.

Note2: Many users also may have other 3rd party add-ins (conflict??)

Note3: Environment could be anything, from Windows XP, Vista, 7, 8, Server and Office 2003 to 2013.