none
Kinect: How to insert an image in the background of Skeletal Viewer so that it is not black? (in C++) RRS feed

• Question

• This is probably the most basic questions on this forum, sorry.  I am just learning basic programming (beginner).

I want to insert an image (jpeg) into the background of the skeletal viewer app in C++ code.  I have managed to get it to output xyz coordinates into a text file (that was hard enough!).  Now I want to see if I can simply change the default black background in the skeletal frame window to instead display any image I choose.

I understand that I need to add a few lines of code somewhere to call the picture file, but I don't know where to add this code or what the code should be.  I know that I will have to save an image file to the source code directory and name it the same as what I call for in the code.

Anyone willing to help?  It would be greatly appreciated!

(Just like Green Screen but with skeletal frame instead of rbg camera display)

Thank you,

Ben

• Edited by Bennoah9 Saturday, June 30, 2012 9:55 PM
    Saturday, June 30, 2012 9:52 PM

All replies

• I haven't tried, but can't you use some of the same code from the GreenScreen-D2D sample for the background?
    Wednesday, July 4, 2012 8:19 PM
  • I will try, it seems that the code needed is longer than I had expected... I will need to upload image as a resource and then render it into the background, not a simple cut and paste - need to declare all the right variables and such before hand.

I am just learning to program so it may take me a while to figure it out...

Tuesday, July 10, 2012 4:48 PM
  • So I got it to kind of work.  Right now I have integrated all of the SkeletonBasic functions into the GreenScreen App. The problem is that the output with Direct2 is now two individual outputs,giving me a window that looks like a strobe light. This is happening because every other 1/30th of a second the display is showing a different output stream.