JSON

Question

• I am trying to use JSON in my Windows 8 app lets say as a test I wanted to get the JSON from here... https://api.twitch.tv/kraken/channels/TrionWorlds.json

How would I do that in my app using javascript/html5 and parse out specific information?

I am new to JSON, so please explain any code given so I can learn it.

Wednesday, March 27, 2013 4:55 PM

Answers

• Sorry apparently this doesn't apply to any webpages in a webview control, or whatever it's called again...displaying an HTML file included in my project... I was however unable to get your sample to work because of the dependency of jQuery download & everything, I wanted it to be simple & easy to retrieve data & display it...

I don't want to download libs & everything for it...all I want is some basic information to display on my page from a Twitch stream, on a webpage that's displayed to my users in the app.

EDIT:So I will mark it as answered, that the solution is ask somewhere else, or maybe not do it at all because you have to rely on libraries & such & unable to do it yourself...
    • Edited by Maya Key Thursday, March 28, 2013 3:01 AM
    • Marked as answer by Maya Key Thursday, March 28, 2013 3:01 AM
    Thursday, March 28, 2013 3:00 AM

All replies

• You can use WinJS.xhr to retrieve JSON data:

WinJS.xhr({url:"https://api.twitch.tv/kraken/channels/TrionWorlds.json"}).done(function(dataString){
    var dataJSON = JSON.parse(dataString.responseText);
    //access your JSON data, for example:
    var aUrl = dataJSON.url; });

• Edited by Ealsur Thursday, March 28, 2013 2:25 AM
    Thursday, March 28, 2013 2:24 AM
  • Thanks for the quick response, how would I do that in general...I got this...

<!DOCTYPE html>
    <html
    	<head>
    		<script>
    			WinJS.xhr({url:"https://api.twitch.tv/kraken/channels/TrionWorlds.json"}).done(function(dataString)
    				{
    					var dataJSON = JSON.parse(dataString.responseText);
    					TestDiv=dataJSON
    				});
    		</script>