TFS 2010 migration to newer server or 2012 TFS RRS feed

• Question

• Hello

We have a server running Windows Server 2003 with TFS2010. We are trying to retire the server, and we need to move TFS somewhere else.

Ultimate goal is to move it to Server 2008 and TFS2012. It seems that the process is not easy, from all the reading I've done.

What are my options? We want to keep all project history (check in, versions etc.).

-Can we migrate TFS2010 from Server 2003 to TFS2010 on (another box) Server 2008 and keep all the data?

-If we can do that, can we then do an upgrade from 2010 to TFS2012 and keep all the data(on the same box)?

Can you point me in the right direction? I have no TFS experience, but I can follow instructions very well if there are some online.

Thanks

Darko

Friday, September 27, 2013 7:33 PM

Answers

• Hi Darko,

You can do this easily, but I suggest to let someone with little TFS experience to do that. Mainly you need the following steps.

• Take backup of the old tfs environment.
    • Detach the collection from tfs console administration.
    • Backup the SQL server collection database.
    • Do a full installation to tfs in the new server
    • Restore the collection to the new sql server.
    • Attach the database to the new tfs with tfs console administration
    • Go with the upgrade process.

I supposed the following:

• You are moving the collection to new server in same domain.
    • The Server is windows 2008 64
    • You did no customization in the old collection. If you customized it, you have to apply the customization again in the new server.
    • You are using TFS for version control, and for work items tracking. Please let me know if you are using build features, lab testing, SharePoint. As these need an extra work to deploy.

You can follow the instruction here for details information
    http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/vstudio/jj620933.aspx

Hope this was helped you.

Regards

Saturday, September 28, 2013 11:14 AM