Summarize an existing summarize table RRS feed

• General discussion

• hi All,

I'm new in DAX, and face a problem about SUMMARIZE function.

====================

First I use summarize an table 'A' group by cust_id and max(value) --> SUMMARIZE('A', [cust_id],"max_value",max(value))

cust_id value
    A 2
    A 3
    B 1
    C 1
    C 3

====================

And the result will be OK as below,

cust_id value
    A 3
    B 1
    C 3

====================

And then, I need to summarize this table group by value and count(cust_id) but don't know how to do....it cannot recognize existing 'cust_id' column...

the result I expect is,

value count
    1 1
    3 2

please help , thanks in advanced.

Jackie

Monday, November 12, 2012 8:52 AM

All replies

• Instead of using summarize, why don't you use 2 measures:

Max_Value: =Max([value])

Count: =countx('A';[Max_Value])

The result will be something like:

Max_Value Count
    A 3 2
    B 1 1
    C 3 2

You can then create another pivotable based on the first one by using OLAP ... convert into formula:

Max_Value Min of Count
    1 1
    3 2

Monday, November 12, 2012 11:22 AM
  • I am not really clear why you need two summarize for this? Do you need this in PowerPivot or are you creating it a DAX query? If it is in PowerPivot, I would say to create a calculated column for the value and then a measure for the count. The reason value needs to be a calculated column is because you need to drag and drop it in the rows. Follow the steps below:-

1) For the purpose of this demo, I have imported the rows that you gave as a linked table and is called Table1. Create a calculated column called MaxValue with the formula below:-

=calculate(max(Table1[value]), filter(Table1, EARLIER(Table1[cust_id])=Table1[cust_id]))

2) Now save it and then create a measure called CntMaxValue with the formula below

=distinctcount(Table1[cust_id])

3) Preview the results by putting MaxValue in rows and CntMaxValue in values

Cheers,