Problem testing validation in viewmodel using coded ui test RRS feed

• Question

• I am new to Coded UI test, and hope to test a large UI fully and completely (of course) using Coded UI testing.

During my initial researchs, I ran into problems when trying to test the Validation.HasError property of TextBox controls and similar. And since this is crusial for a complete testing, I have to find a solution.

The problem is to test the value of HasError and to test if an adorner decorator is visible above the control. By first glance this seems not to be possible to do directly in Coded UI test.

Perhaps I need to use some extensions ?

Any suggestions are welcome.

Tuesday, December 11, 2012 5:31 PM

Answers

• The adorner decorator above the TextBox is the standard red error border, which is displayed when the textbox is invalidated through binding.

The crosshair tool in the Coded UI test builder does not find this border, it finds the TextBox below.

I think, I have to give up on this approach, and instead try to get information about the red border through the adorner layer, and code this into the test.

Thursday, December 13, 2012 9:31 AM

All replies

• Just curious what does SPY++ show for adorner decorator?

JP Cowboy Coders Unite!

Wednesday, December 12, 2012 12:25 AM
  • Hello WPFASL,

Thank you for your post.

As Mr.Javaman said, I would like to know what the adorner decorator above the TextBox control is.

If possible, you can provide us a screenshot about your application UI.

In addition, I suggest that you can drag the crosshair on the adorner decorator to view its properties and check if Coded UI can recognize it well. Also you can use the SPY++ tool.

If the adorner decorator can’t be recognized well, I am afraid that you need to write extension to enable CodedUI to recognize it in order to Coded UI Test it.

Best regards,

Amanda Zhu [MSFT]
    MSDN Community Support | Feedback to us
    Develop and promote your apps in Windows Store