none
C# service to auto delete all the clutter on the PC on start. RRS feed

• Question

• I'm new to C# so bare with me.

All I want to do is make a simple service that on PC reboots, the service will simply clear the clutter off the hard drive and set some security permissions on a folder that seems to always lose it's settings.

I can get most of the code to work flawlessly except the C:\users\<username main account>\AppData\Local\Temp to delete.

I simply can't find a way to get the path to that folder on test machines.

I know it's because the service is running under system or network or local service, I tried all but no matter what, path to %temp% is not working.

Please help me find a simple solution.

Thursday, May 24, 2018 7:20 PM

All replies

• I'm new to C# so bare with me.

All I want to do is make a simple service that on PC reboots, the service will simply clear the clutter off the hard drive and set some security permissions on a folder that seems to always lose it's settings.

I can get most of the code to work flawlessly except the C:\users\<username main account>\AppData\Local\Temp to delete.

I simply can't find a way to get the path to that folder on test machines.

I know it's because the service is running under system or network or local service, I tried all but no matter what, path to %temp% is not working.

Please help me find a simple solution.

Is there something wrong with the tools the O/S provides for disk-cleanup as the administrator with rights to do this? 
    Thursday, May 24, 2018 7:45 PM
  • Yes, they are manual and also there are several locations that have log buildups that I simply want to automate on our customers computers.

Example, mongoDB logs build up too much, the iis logs, windows temp, %temp%, our IIS site temp folder build up to much over time, etc.

I want to distribute a simple solution to automate cleanup of these common problem folders.

Thursday, May 24, 2018 7:52 PM