none
SSIS Execute Process Task not running Python script RRS feed

• Question

• I've searched high and low for a solution and none of them worked. Some of the more common "solutions" are to use a batch file that launches Python and pass the .py script as an argument; launch the Python executable in the Execute Process Task passing the .py script as an argument; check permissions; etc.

My Python script runs perfectly fine outside of SSIS. Creating a batch file that changes working directory and calls Python with my .py script as an argument runs fine outside of SSIS. Even boiling the task down to a basic command (e.g., mkdir) in a DOS prompt and calling that from the Execute Process Task with cmd.exe doesn't work. It appears that SSIS does not want to execute anything from the Execute Process Task suggesting it's a priv (or some type of configuration) issue, but I can't see how that's possible because I'm trying everything on my local machine where I'm an administrator. I'm not even trying to do anything that accesses network resources; it's all simple local stuff just to see how the Execute Process Task works and then incrementally escalating the complexity after the "plumbing" works, but I can even get the basic plumbing working.

What is the missing ingredient here to get this Execute Process Task working?

Thanks in advance.

Miscellaneous info: Dell Latitude running Windows 10 Pro version 1903; SQL Server 2016 v13.0.4259.0 (X64) running on a Windows 2012 R2 server; Visual Studio Professional 2015 w/SSDT.

Thursday, September 26, 2019 6:41 PM

Answers

• I just solved the problem!!! :)

I started from scratch and created a new project/solution and everything worked the way it's supposed to work. Don't know what was wrong with my other project/solution, but when all fails ... reboot or recreate. Recreating my solution did the trick.

Thanks for the quick responses folks. It is appreciated.