Views for Lookup Table RRS feed

• Question

• hi,

I am designing a database. I organized list items are in one table called Lookup table. So i have country, designation etc are in the same table. I user to display my drop down list using type. So i have the following tables

1. LookupMaster
    ---------------------
    TypeID autonumber<
    TypeName varchar(25)

2. LookupParamaters
    ---------------------------------
    Id   autonumber
    ParameterName varchar(50)
    TypeID int   ------ foreignkey(TypeID) from LookupMasater

Here is my design. I studied some perfomance articles and which explained that create views for lookup tables for better performance.

Can anyone guid me for this? how i create views for this design. or i change any design ?

• Edited by akhilrajau Tuesday, March 27, 2012 3:20 AM
    Tuesday, March 27, 2012 3:19 AM

Answers

• Ideally, each object should have a separate TABLE. To acheive that, LookupMaster would need to be split into separate TABLEs, one per type of lookup.

CREATEing VIEWs for a lookup is generally not a good idea. It is always best to try it in the most straightforward fashion, and only if problems are encountered, to try a possibly faster method. Therefore, i would suggest to not bother with VIEWs and to CREATE separate TABLEs for each object.

Tuesday, March 27, 2012 12:54 PM
    Answerer
  • Is this a question on how to design the indexed VIEW, or if the VIEW is a good idea?  If the latter, perhaps the SQL Server Database Engine forum would be a better location for your question.

Denormalization for performance is not my area of expertise.

Tuesday, March 27, 2012 1:14 PM
    Answerer

All replies

• I have doubts about performance , please provide sample data + desired result...Are you using SS2008 and on wards?

Best Regards, Uri Dimant SQL Server MVP http://dimantdatabasesolutions.blogspot.com/ http://sqlblog.com/blogs/uri_dimant/

Tuesday, March 27, 2012 9:49 AM
  • Hello,