locked
Previous version of a solution is run when I run current version. How to stop this? RRS feed

  • Question

  • User-589702765 posted

    I am experiencing a strange erroneous behavior in Visual Studio with an ASP.NET MVC 4 application.

    I have saved previous versions of the same solution as security copies.

    My problem is that if I have run a previous version of the solution.

    And then return to run the current version of the solution.

    Then when I press F5 on the current version to run it, it's actually not the current version which is run. Instead it's the security copy version which I was running just before.

    I can stop this behavior by temporarily by deleting the bin and obj folder of the solution, and also deleting the ProjectName.csproj.user file.

    But then if I run one of the older security versions of my solution, the problem arises again.

    This is not an issue about browser cache, I have checked that.

    Somehow Visual Studio picks up on the previous version of the solution run just before, which have the same name. And then when I try to run the real, current version of the solution, Visual Studio runs the solution that was run before.

    It almost seems like some kind of Visual Studio cache.

    Anybody know how to stop this behavior?

    Thursday, November 7, 2013 7:35 AM

Answers

All replies