How to Save Form Results RRS feed

• Question

• I'm adding a Form to my site to gather mailing information.  How do I "Save Form Results" to an email?  When I check this option, and EW1 says"This form cannot be configured to send results via email. The we site may be located at a disk-based location, or on a server that has not been configured to send email.  Contact your system adm or Internet Service Provider for more information".  How is the best way to retrieve this information.  Bear with me, I'm an artist, not a techie.  I don't have a clue about how to send it to a database, can't figure it out from my book "Visual Quickstart Guide".  Thought the simplest way would be to receive an email. Is there a better book on using EW?  This one has been very helpful and I've successfully published my website with little problems.  EW is great.  This Form Results saving thing has me stumped. Thanks.
    Sunday, September 21, 2008 8:05 PM

Answers

• I have found Jim Cheshire's Book Using Microsoft Expression Web 2, Special Edition to be excellent. It is easy to read with lots of screen shots to help with the step-by-step instructions. It also comes with a CD that contains the entire book along with some utilities. I purchased my copy from Inform IT .

Here is an article from the Expression Web Solution Center that gives a procedure for sending form results to multiple e-mail addresses: Article of Interest .

HTH,

-Preston
    Columbia, CA. USA
    Sunday, September 21, 2008 9:19 PM
  • As long as his hosting supports asp.net 2.0 I would agree with you on Jim's book however not all windows hosting has asp.net 2.0.  Many only support classic asp or asp.net 1.0/1.1 so that is something else to consider.

Most web hosts have a faq with a sample forms processor script for the components or server side scripting they support. I'd suggest checking there as well.
    MS MVP Expression http://by-expression.com
    Sunday, September 21, 2008 10:02 PM
  • Preston B said: