MVVM - Pass parameter to viewmodel constructor and async loading RRS feed

• Question

• Hi All,

I am new to MVVM pattern. I want to pass parameter to viewmodel constructor and load data using ria services based on the parameter. How do I achieve this?

Thursday, May 5, 2011 2:02 AM

Answers

• Hi,

Yes, You can do that but you can not create an instance of ViewModel via XAML instead of using View's code behind files.

public class MainViewModel

//Constructor

public MainViewModel("Type that you want to pass" Variable )

{

}

//how to use

MainViewNodel vm = new MainViewModel(Variable);

Saturday, May 7, 2011 7:46 AM
  • You COULD declare a dependency property in your viewmodel and just bind the attribute in the StaticResource.  Then do what you want to do in the property setter.

That way there would be no code behind ("not that there is anything wrong with that" Seinfeld quote)

Saturday, May 7, 2011 7:50 AM

All replies

• Interesting If the Viewmodel is Declared as a Static Resource how can i pass parameter to the viewmodel constructor

Thursday, May 5, 2011 3:27 AM
  • Hi,

Yes, You can do that but you can not create an instance of ViewModel via XAML instead of using View's code behind files.

public class MainViewModel

//Constructor

public MainViewModel("Type that you want to pass" Variable )

{

}

//how to use

MainViewNodel vm = new MainViewModel(Variable);

Saturday, May 7, 2011 7:46 AM
  • You COULD declare a dependency property in your viewmodel and just bind the attribute in the StaticResource.  Then do what you want to do in the property setter.

That way there would be no code behind ("not that there is anything wrong with that" Seinfeld quote)

Saturday, May 7, 2011 7:50 AM
  • As I know you can also pass parameter to Construtor and Property.

Wednesday, May 11, 2011 8:56 AM
  • Hi,

In Prism we do not directly pass to ViewModel but through Type and Service. In general MVVM you can do that but it is not suitable for big solution.