Update table from CSV file RRS feed

• Question

• Hello,

I am new to ssis and I wanted to use ssis for this process.

I want to update 2 fields in a table based off of an email address from a csv file and then create a log file that has the email addresses of the ones updated.

The fields values are 1 or 0 if ether one is 1 I need to update the record to 0 by email address in the file.

Again I am a beginner and I do want to learn and use ssis for this so baby steps are welcome.

Thanks,

Keith.

keith

• Moved by Katherine Xiong Thursday, November 13, 2014 2:39 AM it is related to SSIS
    Tuesday, November 11, 2014 8:04 PM

Answers

• Hi keith113,

Based on your description, you want to update 2 fields in a table with data from a CSV file and log the 2 fields modification by using Microsoft SQL Server Integration Services(SSIS), right?

Since you didn’t give any detail about your table and CSV, according to my blurring understanding, I make the below assumptions.

1. There’s a table in your database which contains an email field and two fields that need to be updated according to the data in your CSV.
    2. The CSV contains an email field. The data in the CSV and the table is related by the email field.
    3. The two fields values are 1 or 0. If ether one is 1, update the 2 fields to 0 by email address in the file.

Please see the snapshot in my scenario based on the assumptions.
    Scenario:     

Finally the data flow task in SSIS looks like below. I will show you what each step to do.

Steps:

1. Flat File Source.
      A Flat File Source is used to load the data from the CSV. Double click on it and follow the below picture.
    2. OLE DB Source
      A OLE DB Source is used to load data from the table which needs to update.
    3. Merge Join
      A Merge join is used to join the data from CSV and table. You can choose how the data joins based your own requirement. Click Join for more details. In my scenario, left outer join is selected.