none
The KinectRegion as currently implemented is broken and unusable RRS feed

• Question

• I am a developer who has spent the last year working primarily with both the Kinect V1 and the Kinect V2 since the first batch of sensors were released. The Kinect 2.0 SDK by and large is absolutely fantastic, simple and usable.

The concept of the KinectRegion is great in that it handles:

1. The engagement model
    2. The push/click semantics 
    3. The cursor pipeline (look, feel and behavior with controls)

However the KinectRegion as it stands is extremely un-intuitive for most non-technical users to operate. In our experience approximately 80%+ of users were not able to engage with the onscreen controls without significant prompting. This occurred because:

• The acceleration of the pointer is far too sensitive for most users
    • In practice its preferable to have a smaller usable area than an overly sensitive movement of the cursor
    • The hand press gives too many false positives
    • The action required to invoke a button press (i.e. pushing forwards) is not always apparent to most users.

So our first thoughts were, lets see how we can change the smoothing/acceleration parameters of the KinectRegion and maybe add click-on-hover? Searching through the KinectCoreWindow and KinectRegion code, quickly its evident that this is not possible. OK, maybe looking through the source will help? The InputPointerManager property of the KinectRegion sounds promising, look you even provide it as a public class! Oh, wait I can't set it publicly... And so on it goes.